Amusingly Amazed by Fantastical Feats (simple to some is significant to others)

   Today, DH and I drove to Lowe’s.  As we pulled into the parking lot, we noticed a restored Chevy.  We both smiled and made our own sort of appreciative utterances.  He then began to tell me of how his Nanny bought a car, similar to the one in the Lowe’s parking lot, with S&H Green Stamps.  He went on to describe the car…all the way down to a special S&H emblem the car sported.  He spoke of it like it was of no big deal and continued to speak of the boxes and boxes of these BOOKS OF STAMPS that she’d collected and never used (can you say, shop on double and triple stamp days only!).  I, on the other hand, was floored by such an incredible accomplishment!  DH said, “Yeah, I think there were only like a hundred of those cars available.”  Me, still stunned by the thought of how many stamps that had to have taken, replied with, “OMG! and Nanny got one of ’em???!!!”  Nanny was a woman who lived simply and made do with next to nothing (or even less…by the time I met her, she collected rainwater in a barrel to bathe, wash her hair, wash dishes, flush the commode.  She used one lamp only and maintained a small garden (which was drastically reduced in size from what she used to keep) and canned what she didn’t eat right away or share with family nearby.) .  I can’t even fathom how this woman was able to buy enough to acquire that many stamps.

     “Well, what happened to the car?”  “She drove it until it just wore out.”

     I HAD to do a search (still searching…had to write about it before I forgot what I was doing) when we got home!

One response

  1. I remember S&H Green stamp, Yellow stamps, Plaid stamps, and Top Value stamps. I couldn’t wait for my mom to redeem them after filling up the books.

Leave a Reply

